Scott Rolen elected into Hall by 5 votes: Who’s been enshrined with fewer votes, previewing 2024 class

Scott Rolen elected into Hall by 5 votes: Who’s been enshrined with fewer votes, previewing 2024 class

Scott Rolen was the only player elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) on Tuesday. He received 76.3% of 389 votes cast in 2023 after missing induction last year with 63.2% of 394 votes cast in 2022. Rolen entered the Hall of Fame by five votes, becoming only the seventh player to be inducted by that small margin.

Twenty-seven other players were on this year’s ballot, and longtime Rockies first baseman Todd Helton lost 11 votes from the required 75%. In his fifth year on the ballot, Helton jumped to 72.2% of the total vote this year after receiving 52% last year.

Rolen will join Fred McGriff in this year’s class, as McGriff will be inducted into the Hall in July following his election by the Contemporary Baseball Era Committee in December.

Here’s everything you need to know about the selection process, who got fewer votes than Rolen and who could make next year’s list:

How are players selected for the Baseball Hall of Fame?

BBWAA members — who have been active baseball writers for at least 10 consecutive years — vote on eligible players each cycle. The 2023 ballot was sent to approximately 400 voting BBWAA members, Hall announced in November. Players need 75% of the vote to be registered and are removed from the ballot if they are nominated on less than 5% of the ballots or if they have been on the ballot 10 times without an election.

A committee selects those who appear on the ballot, which is released in November. To be eligible for selection, candidates must have been an active major league player for a period beginning 20 years prior to and ending five years prior to the election. They must also have played in 10 major league seasons, part of which must have taken place during the aforementioned period.

The plaque gallery at the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY (Jim McIsaac/Getty Images)

Players on MLB’s ineligible list are not considered. In addition, if an active player or a player who has been retired for less than five years dies and is otherwise eligible, he will be eligible at the next election which will take place at least six months after the date of death or at the end of the five year period, whichever comes first.

According to the BBWAA, voting is based on the “record, playing ability, integrity, sportsmanship, character and contributions to the team(s)” of a player he has played on.

More details on the election process can be found here.

Who was on the ballot this year?

Fourteen players made their BBWAA ballot debuts in 2023: Bronson Arroyo, Carlos Beltrán, Matt Cain, RA Dickey, Jacoby Ellsbury, Andre Ethier, JJ Hardy, John Lackey, Mike Napoli, Jhonny Peralta, Francisco Rodríguez, Huston Street, Jered Weaver and Jayson. Werth.

Fourteen former players also returned to the 2023 BBWAA ballot (having received at least 5% of last year’s vote): Rolen, Helton, Billy Wagner, Andruw Jones, Gary Sheffield, Alex Rodriguez, Jeff Kent, Manny Ramirez, Omar Vizquel, Andy Pettitte, Jimmy Rollins, Bobby Abreu, Mark Buehrle and Torii Hunter.

What other members were elected to the Hall of Fame with 5 votes or less?

One player, Al Simmons, got just enough votes to reach the 75% mark in 1953. Ferguson Jenkins (75.4% in 1991), Ralph Kiner (75.41% in 1975) and Willie Keeler (75.55 % in 1939) were all consecrated with only two votes to spare.

Early Wynn entered the hall in 1972 with 76.01% of 396 votes while Ivan Rodriguez got 76.02% of 442 votes cast in 2017.

Three players, Cy Young (76.12% in 1937), Ryne Sandberg (76.16% in 2005) and Catfish Hunter (76.27% in 1987) had lower percentages than Rolen when elected.

What happens when no player reaches 75%?

The Hall of Fame added no members in 2021 because no players received enough votes, a year that included Curt Schilling, Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens on the writers’ ballot. These three returned to last year’s ballot and missed the cut, along with Sammy Sosa, in their 10th and final year.

The BBWAA also chose no one in 2013, 1996 and 1971.

Who is in the Baseball Hall of Fame?

The Baseball Hall of Fame has 340 alumni, including seven inductees last year: Bud Fowler, Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Miñoso, Tony Oliva, Buck O’Neil and David Ortiz. Fowler, Hodges, Miñoso and O’Neil were elected posthumously.

Who could be elected next year? Adrián Beltré in 2021. (Richard Rodriguez / Getty Images)

Players eligible for the 2024 class for the first time could include José Bautista, Adrián Beltré, Bartolo Colón, Adrián González, Matt Holliday, Jim Johnson, Víctor Martínez, Joe Mauer, Brandon Phillips, José Reyes, James Shields, Chase Utley, David Wright and Brad Ziegler.

Players who did not earn a place in the Hall but still received enough votes to remain on the ballot in 2024 include Todd Helton (72.2%), Billy Wagner (68.1%), Andrew Jones (58.1%), Gary Sheffield (55%). ), Carlos Beltrán (46.5%), Alex Rodriguez (35.7%), Manny Ramirez (33.2%), Omar Vizquel (19.5%), Andy Pettitte (17%), Bobby Abreu (15, 4%), Jimmy Rollins (12.9%), Mark Buehrle (10.8%), Francisco Rodriguez (10.8%) and Torii Hunter (6.9%).

Jeff Kent got 46.5% of the necessary votes, but was in his final year of eligibility.

Helton has made huge strides, missing out on just 11 votes after receiving just 52% of the votes needed in 2022. He will be a strong contender for consecration in 2024.

Beltré, a four-time All-Star and five-time Gold Glove Award winner, is also a likely selection. He is the only major league player with at least 3,000 hits and 450 home runs among those who have played at least half of their games at third base.

Mauer, six-time All-Star, five-time Silver Slugger Award and three-time Gold Glover Award, and Utley, six-time All-Star and four-time Silver Slugger Award, have the best chance of joining Beltré as first-round selections.

The 2023 Hall of Fame induction ceremony is scheduled for July 23. Future Hall of Fame inductions are scheduled for July 21, 2024; July 27, 2025; and July 26, 2026.

Required reading

(Top photo: Albert Dickson/Getty Images)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *