Hurts, Jefferson, Mahomes among AP NFL MVP finalists

Hurts, Jefferson, Mahomes among AP NFL MVP finalists

Jalen Hurts, Justin Jefferson and Patrick Mahomes are finalists for the Associated Press’ 2022 NFL Most Valuable Player and Offensive Player of the Year awards.

The winners will be announced during the NFL Honors on February 9. A national panel of 50 members of the media who regularly cover the league completed the voting before the start of the playoffs.

Bills quarterback Josh Allen and Bengals QB Joe Burrow are also finalists for MVP.

Hurts had 3,701 passing yards, 760 rushing yards and 35 combined touchdowns, leading the Philadelphia Eagles to a 14-3 regular season record and the No. 1 seed in the NFC. The Eagles (15-3) are in the NFC Championship Game for the second time in six seasons.

Jefferson led the NFL with 128 receptions and 1,809 yards in his third season with the Minnesota Vikings. Jefferson was one of two unanimous picks for AP All-Pro along with Chiefs tight end Travis Kelce.

Mahomes, the 2018 NFL MVP, helped Kansas City go 14-3 to earn the No. 1 seed in the AFC. The Chiefs (15-3) are in the AFC title game for the fifth consecutive season. They will host the Bengals. Mahomes led the NFL with 5,250 passing yards and 41 touchdowns. He received 49 of 50 first-team AP All-Pro votes.

San Francisco 49ers rusher Nick Bosa, Chiefs defensive tackle Chris Jones and Dallas Cowboys rusher Micah Parsons are finalists for AP Defensive Player of the Year.

Bosa led the NFL with 18 1/2 sacks, Jones had 15 1/2 and Parsons had 14 1/2.

Brian Daboll, Doug Pederson and Kyle Shanahan are the finalists for the AP Coach of the Year award. Daboll led the New York Giants to a 9-7-1 record in his first season as head coach. Pederson guided the Jacksonville Jaguars to a 9-8 record and an AFC South title in his first year with the team. Shanahan led the San Francisco 49ers to a 13-4 mark, including 5-0 in the streak with third-string rookie quarterback Brock Purdy.

Purdy, Seattle Seahawks running back Kenneth Walker III and New York Jets wide receiver Garrett Wilson are the finalists for AP Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Purdy, the last player selected in the draft, started the season as a third-string QB and stepped in after injuries to Trey Lance and Jimmy Garoppolo. He led San Francisco to a 5-0 record in the streak, two playoff wins and an appearance in the NFC Championship Game in Philadelphia.

Walker led all rookies with 1,050 rushing yards and nine touchdowns. Wilson led all rookies with 83 catches and 1,103 receiving yards.

Jets cornerback Ahmad “Sauce” Gardner, Detroit Lions defensive end Aidan Hutchinson and Seahawks cornerback Tariq Woolen are the finalists for AP Defensive Rookie of the Year.

New York Giants running back Saquon Barkley, 49ers running back Christian McCaffrey and Seahawks quarterback Geno Smith are finalists for AP Comeback Player of the Year.

Lions offensive coordinator Ben Johnson, 49ers defensive coordinator DeMeco Ryans and Eagles offensive coordinator Shane Steichen are the finalists for AP Assistant Coach of the Year.

It was the first year of the new PA voting system. Voters chose a top 5 for MVP and a top 3 for all other awards. For MVP, first place was worth 10 points. Second through fifth place votes were worth 5, 3, 2, and 1 points.

For all other awards, votes for first place were worth 5 points, second place was 3, and third place was 1.


Follow Rob Maaddi on Twitter at


AP NFL: and

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *