Balogun Tabbed to Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Mid-Season Top-10 List

Balogun Tabbed to Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Mid-Season Top-10 List

History Links HoopHall/WBCA Official Release SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Duke women’s basketball senior Elizabeth Balogun has been named one of 10 players selected for the Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Mid-Season Top-10 list , the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Wednesday afternoon.

Named after three-time Naismith Player of the Year and Class of 1995 Hall of Famer, the annual award in its sixth year honors the top small forwards in NCAA Division I women’s college basketball.

Balogun has appeared in all 21 games for the Blue Devils, making 15 consecutive starts after coming off the bench in the first six games. Shooting a clip 51.2% from the field and 41.4% from distance, Balogun is second on the team in scoring (10.3 ppg) while leading in rebounding efforts with 5, 6 boards per game. The Lagos, Nigeria product has scored in double figures 11 times this season, including back-to-back double-doubles in wins over Louisville (20 pts, 10 rebs) and Wake Forest (12 pts, 10 rebs).

Fans can support their favorite players in the remaining rounds by participating in the fan vote, presented by Dell Technologies, starting Friday, February 3, at The fan vote will count as a committee vote during the finalist selection process.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Miller and the Hall of Fame selection committee. The Cheryl Miller Award Selection Committee is made up of top female college basketball personnel, including members of the media, head coaches, sports information directors, and Hall of Famers.

The 2023 Cheryl Miller Prize winner will be featured on a date to be determined, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Other awards presented include the Nancy Lieberman Award (Point Guard), the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (Shooting Guard), the Katrina McClain Award (Power Forward) and the Lisa Leslie Award (Center), in addition to the Men’s Starting Five
For more information on the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophall and #MillerAward on Twitter and Instagram.

To stay up to date with Duke women’s basketball, follow the team on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook by searching “DukeWBB”.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *