Lion Tennis Award winners

Lion Tennis Award winners

Feb. 1 – Loogootee Men’s Varsity Tennis Team finished the season with a 15-2 record in head-to-head matches in 2022, a first-place finish at Evansville North Tennis Invite, a solid finish at Silver Creek Invited and qualified for the regional championship. In 85 individual games played in the regular season, in all positions, the Lions won 67. All 6 varsity players earned conference honors, an unprecedented achievement in high school tennis in conferences without a conference tournament. The varsity team consists of senior Peyton Bledsoe, juniors Brandon Bledsoe, Leighton Jeffers, Drew Walker, Isaac Waggner, Reis Whitney and sophomore Koen Waggner. Three players, Peyton Bledsoe, Drew Walker and Isaac Waggner, earned All-District designation in District 7. To complete all levels of recognition, Peyton and Drew received the honor of being named to the second-team All- State for their success at No. 1 in doubles and Isaac received the honor of being named All-State Honorable Mention for his success at No. 1. Singles.

Loogootee’s junior men’s varsity team also finished the season 9-4 with strong tournament play. “In almost every case, the JV guys had to play multiple matches against different opponents and play singles and doubles in every match. It’s not easy to switch gears from set to set, but they rose to the challenge again and again.”

In Team Awards, Leighton Jeffers won the Mental Attitude Award, Reis Whitney won the Most Improved Award, and the team of Peyton Bledsoe and Drew Walker won the co-Most Valuable Player (MVP) awards. .

“The guys told Coach Christmas and me before the season that they wanted to add competition to their schedule and we were able to accommodate their request. The team showed they could compete and win against some of the best programs in the state. I’m proud of their accomplishments and grateful to have the opportunity to lead an elite program,” said coach TJ McAtee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *